ACU’s Degree Completion Program: A Great Experience

tamara desk2Watching students grow in their confidence in the Degree Completion Program at Arizona Christian University gives me the opportunity to see the value that education has on one’s life. Education is worth more than a piece of paper – or the cost in gaining that piece of paper. A Bachelor’s Degree can benefit and transform your life in ways that are significant and profound.

Even within her first semester, I have been able to see that significance in the life of Tamara Yanke. Tamara is one of the students working toward a degree in Business Administration. It has been a joy to watch her grow in her confidence this past semester. She is discovering skills that she never knew she had, and through each course she learns more about developing the gifts that God has given her.

Tamara chose the DCP because she liked the way the program is designed. “If you follow the program the way it is planned out,” she explains, “you will complete your degree in two years!  I still can’t believe I am finished with my first semester and starting on my second.  Going to class one day a week and having the rest of the week to study works well for my busy schedule.  So far it has been a great experience.”

When I asked her what she enjoys the most, she described her experience like this:

The thing I like most about the Degree Completion Program, is the camaraderie and support of the other students and instructors in the program.  In my cohort we were all working adults with busy lives and commitments, but our group seemed to gel from day one.  My cohort group knew my struggles better than anyone else, they encouraged me, helped and support me whenever I experienced difficult times during the semester.  They were my confidants, my friends, and prayer warriors.  I am truly blessed that the Lord brought each one of them into my life.  Even though we have separated into the different degree programs, we are still close and continue to keep up the support.  I am encouraged and excited to see what the Lord and Arizona Christian University has in store for us in the coming spring semester.  James 1:2-4 (Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance. Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.)  Hang tuff Class of 2016!

Tamara plans to use her degree to better herself in her current position as Assistant Registrar here at ACU. However, she is open to opportunities that may arise after graduation. As she explains, once she has that Bachelor’s Degree, “There’s nothing to stop me from applying!”

lineline

tamara portrait2The value of earning an education and pursuing a Bachelor’s Degree is being realized by Tamara, as well as other adults enrolled in the Degree Completion Program. I can’t wait to see how they continue to grow and learn as they achieve their goals!

If you are interested in pursuing a Business Administration, Behavioral Health, or Christian Ministry Degree, apply to the Degree Completion Program or explore our web pages for more info.

Check us out on Facebook or send me a message on Twitter: @Lisa_ACU

lineline

 Tamara Yanke has been happily married to her best friend, Mark, for 26 years. They have two grown children and will be adding a granddaughter to their family in the near future.

About lisaarizonachristian

Director of the Degree Completion Program at Arizona Christian University
This entry was posted in Business Administration, Cohort Program, Education, Nontraditional Students, Personal Stories, Working Adults and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

